Located in the landlocked plateau of Central Asia between China and Russia, Mongolia covers an entire area of 1.566.500 km- it takes the 15th place with its size in the world. Mongolia stretches about 2.400 km form the west to the east and about 1.260 km from the north to the south.


The northern part of the country is covered by forest mountain, and the southern part by desert, desert steppe, and steppe areas with low mountains. High snow-capped mountains and glaciers and the eastern part by vast plains and wild heaths dominate the western part. The Mongolian environment has a large variety of features. Mongolia can be divided into six zones; desert, mountain, mountain taiga, mountain forest steppe, arid steppe and taiga.


The mountain belt of the Mongol Altai, Khangai and Khentii mountainous regions, with their perpetual snow, glaciers, traces and signs of ancient ice covers, has been well preserved due to a constantly cold climate and strong winds. The area is inhabited by some endangeredanimals (such as the Argali sheep, Ibex, Snow Leopard, Rock Ptarmigan and Altai Snowcock) and plants (such as the Dwarf Siberian Pine and White Gentiana).


Gobi desert, sand dunes Mountains and dense forests predominate central and northern Mongolia and grasslands cover large areas of this region. The Gobi Desert, which extends throughout southern Mongolia from the east to the west of the country.